Indian Society of Genetics & Plant Breeding


Fellow, Elected 2020

Born on October 13, 1966, Dr Sanjay Kumar Singh obtained his Ph D in Horticulture from the Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Varanasi in 1995. He started his professional career as ARS Scientist (Fruit Science) with ICAR- Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi in 1994. Since then, he has been working with IARI in various positions. From 2008-2009, Dr Singh worked with Tropical Research and Education Center, University of Florida, USA as DBT Overseas Fellow and Visiting Scientist. Dr Singh became Professor of Fruit Science in 2014 and Head, Division of Fruits and Horticultural Technology, IARI in April 2016.

Dr. Singh, has developed 4 early-maturing grape varieties, two mango hybrids and has registered 6 unique genotypes in mango and 13 in grape with NBPGR. He has assisted in development of draft Genome sequence of Amrapali mango and is working functional genomics of important traits and marker linked traits. He has identified four promising extra-early maturing grape hybrids (developed through in-ovulo embryo rescue); developed commercial protocols for micropropagation and bio-hardening in grape, mango, citrus, papaya, guava and pomegranate; rootstocks of grape and citrus; in vitro regeneration protocols in mango, guava, papaya etc.; protocol for in vitro mutagenesis and isolation of salinity tolerant genotypes in grape; identified DNA markers liked with desirable traits in mango and grape and clonal fidelity testing of tissue cultured plantlets.

Dr Singh has handled 5 external funded projects from ICAR, DST and DBT. He has published over 150 research papers, 4 books, 14 book chapters, 3 practical manual, 7 reviews and 52 technical articles. He has guided 14 Ph D and 6 M Sc students. Dr. Singh has delivered over 22 invited lectures on fruit crop improvement and biotechnological interventions at different national and international fora.

The Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding feels proud to bestow upon Dr Sanjay Kumar Singh Fellowship of the Society for his outstanding contributions in fruit breeding.