Indian Society of Genetics & Plant Breeding


Fellow, Elected 1989

Born in Halageri, Karnataka, India on 28 February 1953; Educated in Basel Mission Higher Secondary School, Dharwad, 1964-67; Karnataka Science College, Dharwad 1968; College of Agriculture, Dharwad, UAS, Bangalore 1968-75; IARI, New Delhi, 1975-77, Post Doctoral Research in University of London, UK, 1988-89.

Special Officer, University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Shimoga, Karnataka, 2011 to date.

Scientist, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi 1977-81; Senior Scientist, 1984-96; Professor and Head, Department of Genetics and Plant Breeding, 1996-2006; Dean (PGS), 2006-08; and Director of Research, UAS, Dharwad, 2008-11. Member, Institute Management Committee/Board of Management of NRCPB, Pusa Campus, New Delhi, Uttarakhand Open University, Uttarakhand, Swami Keshwanand University of Agricultural Sciences, Bikaner, Rajasthan for 2-4 years; Member, RAC of Directorate of Cashew Research, Puttur, Directorate of Sorghum Research, Hyderabad for 3 years; Member, Academic Council of ANGRAU, Hyderabad for 4 years; Member, State Seed Subcommittee for Horticultural Crops of Karnataka for 2 years; Member, QRT of DSR, Hyderabad, 2012.

Awards/Honours: Prof. R.B. Ekbote Award from Agharkar Research Institute, Pune, 2002; Recognition from ICRISAT, Hyderabad for contribution: in getting CGIAR's King Boudouin Award, 2002, and in bagging Doreen Mashler Award, 2002; Best Research Partnership Award from ICRISAT, 2010; Monsanto Beachell-Borlaug International Fellowship Award, 2011.

Fellow: Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding; National Environmental Science Academy.

Research Areas: Crop Improvement, Molecular Breeding

Address: Special Officer, University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, Navile, Shimoga 577225, Karnataka; 39, Jayanagar, Vidyanagar, Hubli 580021, Karnataka; [Tel: Res. (0836) 2373965, Cell: 9480838999; Fax: (08182) 279623; Email:]