Indian Society of Genetics & Plant Breeding



Fellow, Elected 1973

Born in Pratapgarh, India on 8 September 1946. Educated at Higher Secondary School, Garwara, Pratapgarh, 1956-61; Kanyakubja Vocational Degree College, Lucknow, 1961-63; Govt Agricultural College, Kanpur, 1963-67;G.B. Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, 1967-71; B.Sc. 1965; M.Sc. 1967; Ph.D. 1971; DAAD Post Doctoral Fellow, Goettingen University, Germany, 1977-78; IRRI /CABO Fe l low, Wa geningen, Netherlands , 1986 .

Director General, Institute of Agriculture Technology, Utthan, Jhalwa, Allahabad, U.P., 2014 to date.

JRO/SRO, Pulses Breeding, GBPUAT, Pantnagar, 1971-83; SRO, Rice Breeding, GBPUAT, Pantnagar, 1983-91; Visiting Scientist, IRRI, Philippines, 1987-89; FAO Fellowship, 1992; National Coordinator, Hybrid Rice Seed Production in ICAR as FAO Consultant, 2001-02; Visiting Scientist, PR China, 2002; Professor/Principal Rice Breeder, 1992-2006, Head, 1998-2001 and 2004-06, Department of Genetics & Plant Breeding, GBPUAT, Pantnagar, Uttarakhand; Director, Central Rice Research Institute (ICAR), Cuttack, 2006-08; Managing Director, M/s Nodai Seeds India Pvt. Ltd., Gurgaon, Haryana, 2008-09; Vice Chancellor, Indira Gandhi Agricultural University, Raipur, 2009-11; Vice ISGPB Fellow Directory Chancellor, Birsa Agricultural University, Ranchi, 2011-14; Member, O&M PC, NAIP (ICAR), 2009; Member, National Awards Committee of ICAR, PPV & FR Authority, GoI and Sectional Committee, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi, Member of Management Boards viz. State Red Cross Society of India, Raipur (CG); Chhattisgarh Hindi Granth Academy, Raipur; Chairman, Vikas Bharti, Bishunpur, Gumla, Jharkhand; Member, Ranchi Institute of Neuro Psychiatry & Allied Sciences, Kanke, Ranchi, Jharkhand; Member of the Managing Committee, Ram Krishna Mission Ashram, Morhabadi, Ranchi, Jharkhand; Member, Jharkhand Agricultural Development Governing Council and Executive Council, Govt of Jharkhand.

Awards/Honours: FAO/ICAR/UNDP Award, 1996; Sri Aurobindo Institute of Rural Development, AP, Award, 1996; UP Govt. Rice

Research Accomplishment Award, 2004; GBPUAT Most Outstanding Achievement Awards, 1984, 1986, 1997 and 2004; ICAR Dr. R.H. Richharia Award for Outstanding Rice Research, 2004; Rai Bahadur Dr. Ram Dhan Singh Memorial Trust Award for Rice Crop 2004-05; Krishi Vigyan Jyoti Samman, 2007; Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Agricultural Scientist Award, 2009; Sardar Patel Best Institute Award to CRRI, 2008; Chhattisgarh Krishi Ratna Award for Lifetime Achievement, 2009; Kisa Samman Patra, 2010; Bhoomi Nirman Award, 2010; Vice President,
Indian Society of Genetics & Plant Breeding, 2009; SRASSA- IRRI Plaque of Appreciation for Outstanding Contributions in promoting Stress Tolerant Rice, 2014; Doyen of Rice Research Golden Jubillee Award, 2015 of ICAR/IIRR, Hyderabad.

Fellow: Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding; Rotary Greenfield Club; Vietnam Academy of Agricultural Sciences, Hanoi; Society of Agricultural Professionals, Kanpur.

Research Areas: Crop breeding (rice and grain legumes), genetics, biotechnology

Address: Director General, Institute of Agriculture Technology, Utthan, Jhalwa, Allahabad 211012, U.P.; 2/38, Vinamra Khand, Gomti Nagar, Lucknow 266010, U.P.; [Tel: Off. (0532) 2552226; Res. (0522) 2720202;Cel l : 09956901946; Emai l : matappandey@gmai l . com;]