Indian Society of Genetics & Plant Breeding


Fellow, Elected 2021

Born at Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, India on 03rd March 1978, Dr. Gyan Prakash Mishra got educated at Central Hindu Boys School, Varanasi 1989-1995; BSc (Ag) Banaras Hindu University 1995-1999; MSc and PhD in Genetics from Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi 1999-2001 and 2001-2006, respectively; Post-doc from University of California, Riverside and Purdue University, USA 2010-2011.

Dr. G.P. Mishra started his professional career as a Lecturer at JUIT, Solan 2006-2007; Scientist ‘C’ at Defence Institute of High Altitude Research, Leh 2007-2012; Senior Scientist at Directorate of Groundnut Research, Junagadh2012-2015; Senior Scientist at Indian Institute of Vegetable Research, Varanasi 2015-2017; currently he is Principal Scientist at Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi 2018 to till date.

Awards/Honours: IARI-Merit Medal & Best Student of the Year Award 2001, DRDO-National Science Day Award 2009, Limca Book of Records-2009, ISCA-Pran Vohra Award 2012, BOYSCAST Fellow-2010, NAASAssociate-2018, NASIMembership-2018, ISVS-Dr Harbhajan Singh Memorial Award2018; ICAR-Dr Rajendra Prasad Award 2020, IARI-Dr Ramnath Singh Award 2021.

Research Areas: Crop improvement through conventional and molecular approaches.

Major research contributions: Developed eight varieties in okra, lentil and mungbean. Registered with NBPGR three unique genotypes in lentil and garden pea. Published >70 research articles in various peer reviewed journals and authored/edited five books. Identified a 5-methylcytosine DNA glycosylase/lyase which demethylates the retrotransposon Tos17 and promotes its transposition in rice. Characterized ahFAD mutations in Indian groundnut lines and developed double mutant lines with high O/L ratio. Established a prototype of Permafrost based germplasm storage facility at Chang-La, Ladakh (17,586 feet amsl).

The Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding feels proud to bestow on Dr. Gyan Prakash Mishra the Fellowship of the Society for his outstanding contributions in Genetics and Breeding of crops.